MLB Players Who Have Gone From Rookie of the Year to MVP

When I began to review the MLB players who have gone from rookie of the year to MVP, I learned so much more.

Major League Baseball is a professional baseball organization that consist of 30 teams, 15 in the American League (AL), and the National League (NL), who has 15 teams. In 2000, the American League and the National League became a legal entity, and is combined as the Major League Baseball. The same rules and regulations apply to both groups, except the AL operates under one designated hitter rule, and the other one doesn’t.

In order to qualify as a rookie for Major League Baseball, a new contender must exceed 130 bats. They must also be active on a major league team roster, fewer than 45 days in the previous season. Trying to achieve these goals for the Major Baseball League is sometimes, hard for some new baseball players. Many of the players, will go from a rookie, to a Most Valuable Player- See List below:

* Ryan Howard, Phillies 2006

He led the NL with .58 home runs and 149 RBIs.

* Kris Bryant, Cubs 2013

He batted .292 with 39 home runs and 102 RBIs.

* Cal Ripken Jr. 1983 and 1991

Cal Ripken Jr., is a Hall of Fame winner. He has played 2,632 consecutive games since he started his career at age 21. He won his first MVP season in 1983- batting .318 with 27 home runs. Cal Ripken won his second MVP eight years later, batting .323 with 34 home runs and 114 RBIs.

* Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox 2013

He batted .326 and 17 homers with 83 RBIs. Along with MVPs titles, he also won a Gold Glove- at second, with six errors in more that 150 games.

The major League Baseball franchise are always on the lookout for rookies, who’s future is to bring their teams major wins. To become a rookie, you must have a .250 average, 130 at-bats or 50 innings pitched in the major leagues, hit 50 home runs, or steal 75 bases- to take you to this status in the league. Rookies get their first experience of the major leagues during September call-ups. During rookie season, some of them become great and some of them just become substantial players. Some of the rookies are measured by veteran baseball players, who monitor their style and competition status.

The Most Valuable Player (MVP) is awarded by the Baseball Writer’s Association of America. They have been through three interactions. The first two were awarded in 1910 and 1920, and then became an annual process.

Rookies who have gone from rookie of the year to MVP, is a person who has demonstrated their best performance and completion for the major league baseball team. Each year, Major League Baseball fans and the franchise, watch for the rookie- who will make their mark in the sport for the first time. Some of the players make history, and some of them will become the Most Valuable Player of the year. They are responsible for bringing their team to great success!

Michael Morris
About Michael Morris 4 Articles
I'm just a guy who loves extreme kayak racing. I have only recently begun my adventure into the sport and would love to share my story with you.